tennis

I went through a phase of really loving She &Him, the musical collaboration between Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward.  I was really into their throwback sound and sweet little songs and then one day I tried listening to an album of theirs and the whole thing just kind of unraveled.  I really don’t know why.  But all of a sudden, outside of a few exceptions, I find their songs to be boring and kind of annoying.  It’s kind of sad actually because I was a big fan but, you know, things change.

Anyway, I am super excited to have discovered the band Tennis who have also been heavily influenced by music of yore.  In one interview the band members (the band consists of a husband and wife team) say that a big influence of “their sound” was the song “Baby It’s You” by The Shirells.  Let’s have a listen.

Pretty great, right?

Now here are some of the songs by Tennis that I have become particularly smitten with.

Leave a Reply

