no denying it

Fotor090513165

On Wednesday night I was cuddled on the couch and was surprised to see that it was only 8:30 pm but it was already dark outside.  Thursday morning was a chilly ride to work despite the fact that I was wearing pants and a coat.  The Pumpkin Spice Latte is back.

There is no denying it.  Fall is approaching us pretty quickly and although it does not officially begin until the 22nd of this month, I am pretty sure it is safe to say that it has already snuck one foot in the door.  The cooler nights, the shorter days, the scarves…they all signal autumn’s arrival.  And even without these external signs, I can tell by my thoughts and cravings that it is almost time to burrow inside and prepare for the winter months.  Just this week I have been struck with an overwhelming desire to bake things, make squash soups, find some apple cider, get under cozy blankets, and dig some mittens and scarves out of storage.

The next few fall months also hold some exciting things:

– a girls getaway camping trip this month

– the wrap up of the Blue Jays baseball season (I have tickets to two more games)

– potentially a last camping trip to Algonquin with my boyfriend in early October to see the leaves and bid an official farewell to summer

– the trial of some fall recipes I have been squirreling away all summer such as warm cocktails with apple cider, pumpkin pie from scratch (I am determined to do this finally), and oddles of things involving squash.  I am also toying around with the idea of making some sort of elaborate Thanksgiving meal this year.

Anything you are looking forward to this fall?

-The Postliminary-

Some past autumn posts on The Shanty – here, here,  and one of my past favorites here.

Leave a Reply

