sherlock

Ever since the bf and I moved and I have had access to his Netlifx account, I have been taking advantage of it fairly often, especially when I am home alone and just want to lounge around.  That is how I came across Orange is the New Black, which, despite what many people think of the show, I found to be not that interesting and fairly disappointing.  I have however, just started watching the Sherlock short series produced for BBC and I love love love it!

My brother actually told me about this modern-day Sherlock Holmes adaptation quite a while ago, but unfortunately I forgot all about it until I happened to see it on the Netflix screen.  I assume that some fans had trouble with seeing their favorite detective sending text messages and using a lap top in modern-day London, but I thought the writers transitioned both him and Dr. Watson into the 21st century quite seamlessly.

The series is made up of three seasons (so far anyway), with each season only consisting of three 90-minute episodes.  I have so far only watched the first two episodes of Season 1. I should also note that Season 3 only finished shooting at the beginning of this month so may not actually air for quite a while yet.

Let’s talk casting.  Sherlock Holmes is played by Benedict Cumberbatch.  Until quite recently I was not familiar with this actor at all but it seems like he has been popping up more and more as of late.  I just watched him play the part of Khan in the newest J.J. Abrams adaptation of Star Trek, saw a trailer for The Fifth Estate in which he portrays Wikileaks founder Julian Assange, and now have seen him perform so well as Sherlock Holmes.  Pretty varied characters I would say.  Oh, and he also plays the Necromancer in the new The Hobbit trilogy, and will continue with this part as well as the part of Smaug in the remaining two films.

Fotor0904110010

a pretty impressive array of characters

And since we all know that there can be no Sherlock Holmes without a Dr. Watson, I am very pleased with the casting for his crime-solving partner as well – Martin Freeman!

You probably know him best either from his role as Tim on the original UK version of The Office or, most likely, as a young Bilbo Baggins from the latest J.R.R. Tolkien film adaptation by Peter Jackson.  In either case, he is a great actor and I think he plays Watson with a much harder edge than I have previously seen the character portrayed.

Fotor0904111056

I know that the first season of this series debuted in 2010 so I am pretty far behind, but if you are like me and have not seen it yet, I would recommend you fix that as soon as you can.  I am probably also partial to it because I have always been a fan of the adventures of Sherlock Holmes, but I think that even to a novice this series has enough suspense, mystery, sometimes comedy, and action to make it worth your while.

Lastly, I will admit to having to turn the closed captions on halfway through the first episode simply because Cumberbatch delivers Holmes’ train of though so quickly sometimes that I had a hard time following without them.

Anyway, if you think this is at all up your alley I would highly recommend you check it out.

-The Postliminary-

Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson are on a camping trip.

In the middle of the night, Holmes nudges Watson awake, and says, “Watson, look up at the sky and tell me what you see.”

“I see millions of stars, my dear Holmes.”

“And what do you infer from these stars?”

“Well, a number of things,” he says, lighting his pipe:

Astronomically, I observe that there are millions of galaxies and billions of stars and planets.

Astrologically, I observe that Saturn is in Leo.

Horologically, I deduce that the time is approximately a quarter past three.

Meteorologically, I expect that the weather will be fine and clear.

Theologically, I see that God is all-powerful, and man, his creation, small and insignificant.

What about you, Holmes?”

“Watson, you fool. Someone has stolen our tent!”

Update

Color your own Benedict Cumberbatch!

One thought on “sherlock

Leave a Reply

