before midnight and company

Yesterday, as part of my belated birthday present, one of my dearest friends took me to see Before Midnight.  We are both big fans of this trilogy and I personally have seen Before Sunrise and Before Sunset a few times each and love them both.  The latest (and final?) installment skips nine years ahead from the last film.  Jesse and Celine are on a vacation in Greece and just like the previous two films, this one takes place over the span of one day as a snapshot of the relationship between the two main characters.

I thought this was film was just as beautiful and honest as the previous two and just as full of sometimes witty, at times serious, and occasionally philosophical dialogue.  I won’t lie, there was one scene in particular that made me cry because it was so beautifully written and filmed.

 

The film was preceded by three, equally interesting-looking trailers.  I am going to keep my eye out for screenings of all of them.

Frances Ha co-written by and starring Greta Gerwig who is all sorts of awesome.

 

The Way, Way Back.  Sam Rockwell is in this one, and although I know he has done all sorts of other stuff I can’t help but always think of him as Zaphod Beeblebrox from The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

 

And finally, I’m So Excited.  I am not sure about this one but looks like it could be lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

