trouble will find me

I gave The National‘s new album a listen last night and I can definitely say it was not a disappointment. I have been a big fan of this band for a long time and as we all know new albums can be a bit worrisome as some bands will change direction {not for the better} leaving their fans disappointed.

So I am happy to report fellow The National fans, “Trouble Will Find Me” is a great record.

I am not quite sure it will beat out “Boxer” as my favorite album by the band but I will definitely be listening to it lots over the next few weeks.

Two tracks that stood out on the first listen…

I’m under the gun again
I know I was the 45% of then
I know I was a lot of things
But I am good, I am grounded
Davy says that I look taller
I can’t get my head around it
I keep feeling smaller and smaller
I need my girl
I need my girl

I have only two emotions,
Careful fear and dead devotion.
I can’t get the balance right.
Throw my marbles in the fight.
I see all the ones I wept for
All the things I had it in for
I won’t cry until I hear
Cause I was not supposed to be here.

Everything I love is on the table.
Everything I love is out to sea.

On a related note, The Grid recently published an interview with the front man of The National, Matt Berninger.  Interestingly he was interviewed by Canadian artist Hayden Desser (better known as just Hayden), of whom Berninger is a big fan.  Kind of forget sometimes that famous musicians are still music lovers and are fans of other artists so this was a nice reminder.

Update

Not sure how I didn’t know about this sooner (or maybe I did and forgot) that The National are playing a free show in Toronto on June 14th at Yonge-Dundas square as part of NXNE.

Leave a Reply

