all things food

If you know me personally or have been following the blog for a while I would be shocked if you did not already know that I am kind of obsessed with food.  My sister and I have a joke going, which I think was pointed out by her boyfriend, that we are always discussing future meals.  It is actually true.  Normally over breakfast I am contemplating what to have for lunch, what to prepare for dinner later, and of course what to have for breakfast the next day!

I also, am pretty much always in the mood for food and get hungry at an alarmingly frequent rate.  Good thing I like to keep my food on the healthy end of things or else I would probably balloon out rather quickly.

Just yesterday I started reading Julia Child’s autobiographical collection of short vignettes called My Life in France and while doing so was coming up with lists of foods I would like to try, places I would like to go to eat, and scheming about ways I could learn more and more about the finer side of cooking.

Also, I would like to go to Paris please.

And go back in time and meet Julia Child.  She seems like someone who was so full of life and so optimistic about everything.  I am sure she had her bad days, but in my mind she is starting to embody the “laugh it off” attitude.  She seems like a wonderful woman and her advice on cooking is some wise wise stuff.

Maybe the cat has fallen into the stew, or the lettuce has frozen, or the cake has collapsed. Eh bien, tant pis. Usually one’s cooking is better than one thinks it is. And if the food is truly vile, then the cook must simply grit her teeth and bear it with a smile, and learn from her mistakes.

Since we are talking about food, here is a lovely little video that made me smile and feel all warm inside.

Bon appetit!

 

2 thoughts on “all things food

Leave a Reply

