grow your yoga

April is almost over and I am so looking forward to May which is promising to be one exciting month!  The first long weekend of the summer, my birthday (wooooo), and the next 30 day challenge at the Moksha Yoga Danforth studio (this time with a twist)!

I last participated in the 30-day challenge in October of 2012.  The idea is to do 25 classes in the 30 days.  Some of those days can include practice at home, and last time around I counted a one day Vipassana course towards my goal as well.  I think my final count for that month was 22 days of practice of some kind.  In the month of May, the challenge is also coupled with the Moksha Yoga worldwide initiative called Grow Your Yoga.  I will let “Woody” explain it further…

The month is also split into four one-week mini challenges that help extend the practice beyond the mat.

Week One – Live Green – the focus is on healthy eating – organic, vegan, local, raw – some or all of these aspects can be focused on in the week, but the overall idea is to eat consciously.

Week Two – Be Peace – the challenge is to be more at peace with your thoughts, which then has the effect of being at peace with the external.  10 minutes of meditation daily.

Week Three –  Be Accessible – no gossip for the whole week!  Become more accessible to deeper and more worthwhile conversation.

Week Four – Reach Out to Africa – this final week is all about raising the $100, 000 goal to benefit the Maasai Wilderness Conservation Trust!  If you are feeling so inclined, you can donate to my page and my community here.  And don’t worry, I will be posting this URL on this page throughout the month in case you need some extra time to think it over.  I will also do a separate post about the Maasai Wilderness Conservation Trust so you can have more info!

After this month of daily green smoothies, lots of yoga, no alcohol, general healthy eating, and plenty of rest, I am feeling like a million bucks and I am very excited to further expand this into the month of May.

One of the principles of Buddhism is that we strive to become better beings because that has small but incremental benefits to all other beings on the planet.  I like to think that while these types of challenges and lifestyle changes are good for me, they also make me a better person which then influences those around me.  Without making a large commitment like this challenge, think about a small thing you can do in the month of May that benefits yourself and those around you.  Small drops eventually make oceans!

Note: the above quote is attributed to Buddha, which is only partially true.  Here is some more info.  Nevertheless, a great sentiment.

3 thoughts on “grow your yoga

  1. Pingback: april wrap up | The Nouveau Shanty

Leave a Reply

