friday

This week is wrapping up and it has been a bit of a hard one.  The Boston Marathon bombings has certainly given me a heavy heart, however has also made me put more effort into being consciously grateful for all I have and has yet again made me marvel at the amazing-ness and preciousness of life.  If you have not seen this yet, I particularly liked what the comedian Patton Oswalt wrote about the attack on his Facebook page.

This is a giant planet and we’re lucky to live on it but there are prices and penalties incurred for the daily miracle of existence. One of them is, every once in awhile, the wiring of a tiny sliver of the species gets snarled and they’re pointed towards darkness.

But the vast majority stands against that darkness and, like white blood cells attacking a virus, they dilute and weaken and eventually wash away the evil doers and, more importantly, the damage they wreak. This is beyond religion or creed or nation. We would not be here if humanity were inherently evil. We’d have eaten ourselves alive long ago. [emphasis added]

Well said.

Getting much less attention but also terribly tragic, a fertilizer plant explosion in Texas has left 12 dead, many injured, and an incredible amount of damage.  As I write this, it is unclear what caused this accident.  Not sure that the answer would bring any relief to the friends and families of the victims.

And then this happened.  Very disappointing.

It is easy to get bogged down in the bad. If I read too many news stories in any given day I feel a dark cloud of depression and hopelessness creeping in.  However, I think just like Oswalt stated above, I don’t believe that humans are inherently evil, just disappointing at times.  I think that there is so so much good going on all around us all the time that we must focus on that and become part of actions and movements that will move us towards the creation of communities we would want to be a part of.

No amount of hatred, sadness, ignorance, or apathy will help create compassion, joy, and a better life.  That is all I try to keep in mind when I am not feeling the most optimistic about the state of the world.  And yes, of course I only mention a few things above out of the many terrible things that have happened over the past few days all over the world, but wouldn’t it be nice if we had access to just as many stories about things that were uplifting and inspiring?

Maybe my attitude is a bit too rose-colored for some, but I know how easy it is to become a negative and jaded person and I can assure you that is a path I never want to travel down.

 

 

Leave a Reply

