red fish

I chose Red Fish Restaurant for my lovely boyfriend’s birthday dinner last weekend and I can’t say enough good things about this place.  The food was amazing, the staff were very friendly and attentive, and this place is all about sustainability.

Seasonal and sustainable is the rule at Red Fish. We believe that using the freshest ingredients in the simplest way allows the natural flavour to shine.  We promise guilt free dining with a local flare.

Located at College and Delaware, just west of Ossington, Red Fish is a fairly small but cozy space with a nautical/fishing theme that really works.  This isn’t the Uncle Pete’s Clam Shack with nets and starfish glued to the walls, but does feature some prints of local fish species and my personal favorite, a hanging light at the front of the restaurant resembling a porthole.  I am not sure how many people the place sits but I would definitely recommend making reservations.

source: google plus

source: google plus

 

We started with the Octopus Ssam which was delicate and flavorful.  Definitely not chewy, which is what I sadly tend to associate with octopus. A bit spicy and garnished with black sesame seeds this dish was a great way to start the dinner.  I also ordered the clam chowder as an appetizer which, while being my least favorite dish of the night, was still hearty and full of texture.  For mains I ordered the Ontario Whitefish, an entree from which $3 of every order are currently being donated to Lake Ontario Waterkeeper in support of swimable, fishable water.  The fish was absolutely fabulous.  Tender, moist, flaky, accompanied by fingerling potatoes, olives, and a romesco sauce I was over the moon with my selection.

Ontario White Fish at Red Fish

Ontario White Fish at Red Fish

My boyfriend ordered the daily Cippolini which was a big portion of mussels, shrimp, bay scallops, and squid, which came with fingerling potatoes, a great (tomato based?) sauce and was delicious through and through.

daily cippolini at Red Fish

daily cippolini at Red Fish

We decided to skip the desert as the birthday cake was to be had later that night at a party, but I am sure it wouldn’t have disappointed.

Overall a great meal (did I mention the fabulous staff?) and a restaurant I would be eager to try again.  The prices are reasonable and I feel good supporting a local eatery that also focuses on sustainability and giving back.  Perhaps a visit in the summer for brunch when their patio is open would be a good idea…

Leave a Reply

