how sweet is this song?

It is a cover of Animal Collective’s “My Girls“, but I like this version much better.  I am not quite sure what the “father’s grave” reference is all about, but the rest of it is just lovely.  A good spring song I think – a season which I very cautiously say I think I am starting to feel in the air.

there isn’t much that i feel i need
a solid soul, and the blood i bleed
but with a little cat and by my spouse
i only want a proper house

i don’t care for fancy things
or take part in the freshest way
but to provide for my mine who ask
i will work hard, on my father’s grave
on my father’s grave

i don’t mean to seem like i care about material things
like a social status
i just want four walls and adobe slabs for my boys

there isn’t much that i feel i need
a solid soul, and the blood i bleed
but with a little cat and by my spouse
i only want a proper house

i don’t care for fancy things
or to take part in the freshest way
but to provide for my mine who ask
i will work hard, on my father’s grave
on my father’s grave
father’s grave

i don’t mean to seem like i care about material things
like a social status
i just want four walls and adobe slabs for my boys

Leave a Reply

