wasn’t the world supposed to end or something?

Hey look!  We all made it! :)

On December 6th I attended a talk put on by University of Toronto’s Astronomy and Astrophysics Department titled “The Science and Pseudoscience of the Apocalypse”.  The speaker, Kelly Lepo, walked the audience through the top “theories” about why the world was going to end on the 21st of December in 2012.  I was somewhat hesitant to write about this prior to the passing of the potential doomsday, but now that we are snuggled in the safety of the 22nd of the month, I am certain that I can write about this without later having to eat my words.

I am not going to go through all of the theories and their disproval (it’s all old news now anyway), but I will say that perhaps one of the best arguments against subscribing to any doomsday scenario presented by Lepo was a slide listing a set of dates on which the world was supposedly going to end in the past.  This was a crowded, small-font, and incomplete list.  Humans seem to really like predicting the end for some reason!  We all lived through Y2K…enough said.

What I will say though, is that this department awesomely offers FREE monthly talks and are followed by observing sessions and planetarium shows.  I can just tell your inner geek is getting all giddy.  This was the first time that I had gone, but I will be sure to come back for a few future talks at the very least.  Next one takes place on February 7th (sorry there is not one in January) so maybe I shall see you there!

You can check out some of the past talks here.

stars and stuff – thinking about this too much gives me existential anxiety so I have to portion it out into little packets much like God with sugar.

Leave a Reply

