welcome to december

I really like titling my first-of-the-month posts “welcome to…”  It makes me feel like I am the mayor of the month.  “Please, won’t you come in?”

According to Wikipedia, which we all know is always rock solid truth, there are 89 events that fall under the category of “December Observances”.  Sure we all know about the big guys – Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, New Year’s Eve, and Festivus (which totally has its own Wikipedia page by the way), but what about the lesser known December holidays?  What about Alamaba Day, Iceland’s Jól, Monkey Day, and the Night of the Radishes?  Have we become so consumed by the big guys that we have no attention span left for their lesser counterparts?

This December, why not take some time to read up on holidays and observances that don’t involve you for a change?  Unless you are too good for it that is.  I would recommend starting on a happy note with, oh I don’t know, how about Massacre of the Innocents.

It can’t be all babies in mangers, Furbies, and Rudolphs after all.  Although I do totally give you permission to make this the month of National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation viewings.  Why not go ahead and just loop that movie endlessly in your house for the month? I am contemplating doing just that, or at least watching this gif for hours at a time.

probably my favorite scene..although, i don't know, the whole movie is a masterpiece

probably my favorite scene..although, i don’t know, the whole movie is a masterpiece

-The Postliminary-

If you live in Toronto (or nearby) you simply must visit the Distillery Christmas Market daaahling (running until December 16th).  I have gone for the past two years and will definitely be visiting it again this year.  There are tons of crafts, and food, and carols, and lights, and mulled wine, and a huge huge tree.  It’s kind of like Whoville is I guess what I am trying to say.

Leave a Reply

