the quest continues

I just finished reading Crazy Sexy Diet by the fabulous Kris Carr which didn’t have too much new information for me but it was still such a great read! It is super well written and you feel like you are talking to a good friend about food and health.  Plus, she calls the reader a “divine banana” and refers to whatever ailment we have that we would like to work on as our “shit pickle”.  C’mon, you know that’s good for a laugh!  This is a great place to start for super non-threatening, easy to understand, and easy to read information.

Two parts that particularly stuck out to me:

1. This is in regards to the argument that our ancestors consumed meat and animals eat it too, so why shouldn’t we?  I should also note that Carr herself is a vegan, but suggests that if people continue to eat meat and dairy products they re-think where their meat is coming from as well as the frequency of consumption.

“In addition, the lioness dines on fresh kill, preferably organs high in minerals.  Because she doesn’t haul around a camping stove, Madame Lioness eats her food raw and therefore receives all the enzymatic benefits.  Her short digestive tract ensures that zebra goes in, zebra comes out.  Now think of the length of our intestines, about 26 twisting, curving feet.  Pig goes in; pig stays in for days and weeks at a time.  Pig makes us bloated and bitchy.  Our personal thermostat hovers around 98.6.  What happens to pig at that temperature? Stink city! If our digestive fires aren’t strong, the former Being rots and corrupts out internal environment. Bad bacteria go wild; it’s like their version of a coke whore bender.”

Potentially rotting meat in me for weeks?  Pass the bacon.

2. “Neurotransmitters are natural chemicals that transmit signals from one part of your brain to another.  Guess what?  They’re also found in your intestines.  In fact, a whopping 95 percent of all serotonin, one of the most important neurotransmitters, is made by nerve cells in your gut.  And get this – the gut has at least seven different kinds of serotonin receptors.  An imbalance in serotonin levels can be an underlying cause of depression.  If one brain is out of balance [the gut], it stands to reason that the other one (the one you’re using to read this) might be out of balance, too.  Many people with depression and anxiety also have bowel trouble. Maybe we need to pop less Prozac and pump out more poop.”

Pass the fiber.

I also finished up my healthy living documentary binge (for now) with Food Matters.  Here is the trailer and I pulled out some of my favorite quotes below.

  • “The answer is for every person to realize that if you want something done right, you have to do it yourself. You have to read, you have to dig. You have to want to have this information…”
  • “I feel very strongly that the best doctor in the world, the best nutritionist in the world, is you.”
  • “We have a public that is catching on quicker than the medical professions.  In a way it’s sad, but in a way it’s great!”

-The Postliminary-

The more you read books about health, and watch documentaries, and visit blogs, and hear people speak the more you end up hearing the same sorts of things over and over again.  One of them is the list of chronic conditions that lifestyle changes (dietary being chief among them) can improve, if not reverse.  Some that come to mind are irritable bowel syndrome, heart disease, cancer, migraines, allergies, diabetes, anxiety, depression, and….drum roll please…Rheumatoid Arthritis!  At least I know that I am looking in the right places when those two words pop up.  Even “autoimmune disorders” has my little antennae lighting up.

To be honest, I have known a lot of things that I could be doing to make myself better for years now and I have chosen to ignore them.  Why, you ask?  I really don’t know.  Human psychology is a tricky thing my friends.  It’s why that obese person keeps eating fried foods, or why the cancer patient is smoking, or why the depressed person is hitting the bottle…we all know that there are things we should be doing, just as we know there are things we should just quit already, but it is hard.  For many there comes a breaking point of sorts, which is normally a scary place that I would rather avoid so I am choosing to be proactive.  Yes, a tad late, but proactive nonetheless. One of the scariest moments in Food Matters is when someone says something like “the first symptom of heart disease most of the time is death”.  Woah man! Way to kill the mood!  But honestly, that is some scary stuff!  And while I don’t think that I am on the brink of having a heart attack, I still worry about what kind of body I may wake up to one day if I don’t start treating it as well as I can right now and get my RA/immune system stuff sorted out.  And at least if I do all this now and still wake up with major joint and pain issues down the line I won’t be cursing myself for not doing something about it when I possibly had the chance to make the difference.  One of my favorite quotes is “A year from now you will wish you had started today”, so here I go!

Leave a Reply

