in my head i am already there

Today my mom and I are hitting the open road…erm…driving up towards Barrie, ON to attend another 1-day mediation course in Vipassana.  I am super excited about this one for two reasons.  First, this is a homecoming of sorts as it is taking place at the Ontario Vipassana Centre where I did my 10-day course back in June.  I am really looking forward to being back up there, especially now with the fall leaves and the crisp autumn air.  It may sound a little out there to some of you, but this place has a certain specific energy about it which I have been longing for, so I hope to get a little boost from being in it for the day.  Also, since the centre will not be full of people, I have been told that there is a very good chance I will see some wildlife.  A deer or a fox spotting would be just fine!

The second reason I am excited is that my mom will be there!  When I was registering for the 10 day course there was a chance that my mom was going to attend the same one, but she ended up being accepted into a different time slot, which perhaps was for the best.  There was a concern that we would potentially act as a distraction to the other.  However, I think that since we are both experienced now, this time around it should not be an issue and I am actually quite curious to see how her presence may influence my day.  Remember, we are not allowed to talk to other students after registration until the end of the day.

The very interesting thing is that when I did the 10 day course there was another student there who looked a lot like my mom.  To the point that one day in the dining hall during breakfast, I caught a glimpse of her out of my periphery and could have sworn at that moment that my mom was standing there loading up on oatmeal!  On day 10 when we were allowed to speak, I had a chance to sit down with this woman and it quickly became apparent that although she looked a lot like my mom, their personalities were nothing alike.  But despite that, it was still nice to have a little touchstone of the familiar while I was going through the 9 days of learning and silence.

As curious as I am about the day ahead, I am trying to not have any expectations.  If my experience is anything like the 1 day course I did recently in Toronto, it will be challenging but rewarding.  I will be sure to write about it next week!  See you on the other side.

Course schedule:

9:30 – 10:00 a.m Arrive / Registration
10:00 – 10:40 a.m. Course Opening – Anapana Instructions
10:40 – 10:50 a.m. Break
10:50 – 11:50 a.m. Anapana Practice
11:50 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Break
12:00 – 12:50 p.m. Vipassana Instructions
12:50 – 1:20 p.m. Lunch Break & Interviews with Assistant Teacher(s)
1:20 – 2:20 p.m. Vipassana Practice
2:20 – 2:30 p.m. Break
2:30 – 3:30 p.m. Group Sitting
3:30 – 3:40 p.m. Break
3:40 – 4:25 p.m. Discourse & Metta – Course Closing
4:25 Clean Up, Information Table

One thought on “in my head i am already there

  1. Pingback: Vipassana revisited « The Nouveau Shanty

Leave a Reply

