may be doing it wrong

Once the cold weather hits Ontario all I really feel like doing is lounging around with a good book.  At the moment I am reading Memories of My Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (my love for this author has been documented here and here), which is a super short book (novella?) that I will most likely finish today.

The short list for the Scotiabank Giller Prize was announced on October 1, 2012 and although I have never really paid attention to it before, I have decided to read the five books that made the cut this year.  I have placed holds on all of them at the library and am patiently waiting for at least one of them to come in.  I say patiently because it seems that about 150 people had the same idea so I am most definitely not the first in line for any of these books.

However, I have nothing to worry about as I just unpacked a big box full of books that my brother passed on to me, which so far have just been gathering dust.  And yes, while the FULL Calvin and Hobbes anthology happens to be in there (yep, this one.  Jealous?), there are also some great works of literature that I hope to sink my teeth into.

So put on the kettle, get the tea or coffee ready, mama’s got some reading to do!

2 thoughts on “may be doing it wrong

Leave a Reply

