emotional trauma

 

 

Last night I finished Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.  I think that after The Count of Monte Cristo this was the longest novel I have ever read.  I really enjoyed it, but am somewhat surprised by the last 100 pages or so.  What I thought would be a climax of the book read more like a whimper, a side note that was briefly mentioned and then discarded.

Don’t get me wrong, this was a great read overall but I definitely have to mull over some things, and maybe do some research on the book to fully make sense of it.  To the internets!

Oh and I saw this illustration a while ago and think it is quite appropriate to how I am feeling right now.  Anna, Vronsky, Kitty, Levin, Dolly, Karenin – they all became a part of my life and are now all gone.  I will miss them.

One thought on “emotional trauma

  1. Pingback: well that was a disappointment | The Nouveau Shanty

Leave a Reply

