not my first rodeo

This Saturday I am doing a one day meditation course which is a follow up available only to students who have previously sat the 10-day Vipassana course like I did back in June.  I have to admit that my meditation practice following the course has really slipped and fallen into non-existence.  I try to start and end my yoga practice with a bit of meditation but that 5 or 10 minutes is really not cutting it.  I am hoping that this course will renew my dedication and get my bum back on that cushion even if it is only for a few hours each week.

Unlike the 10-day course schedule that included a 4am wake up (*shudder*), the 1-day is a much shorter day and I think should be fairly easy.  I say that now, but I am actually quite nervous to see how it goes.

9:30 – 10:00 a.m Arrive / Registration
10:00 – 10:40 a.m. Course Opening – Anapana Instructions
10:40 – 10:50 a.m. Break
10:50 – 11:50 a.m. Anapana Practice
11:50 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Break
12:00 – 12:50 p.m. Vipassana Instructions
12:50 – 1:20 p.m. Lunch Break & Interviews with Assistant Teacher(s)
1:20 – 2:20 p.m. Vipassana Practice
2:20 – 2:30 p.m. Break
2:30 – 3:30 p.m. Group Sitting
3:30 – 3:40 p.m. Break
3:40 – 4:25 p.m. Discourse & Metta – Course Closing
4:25 Clean Up, Information Table

Piece of cake, right?  Well no, I actually don’t think it will be at all.  I am quite nervous about how I will find sitting still for long periods of time after not having done it for a long time.  I am worried about my monkey brain bouncing all over the place.  I am worried about…  I am trying to replace all of the fear and anxiety with curiosity, and in that sense I am extremely curious to see how the day will go.

Metta which you see in the 3:40-4:25 time slot basically refers to the meditation practice of sending out positive energy and good wishes to all beings in the universe, so if you feel a little extra bounce in your step around that time maybe it’s Metta coming to say hello!  :)

Leave a Reply

