anna k

I was somewhat hesitant to write about the fact that I had started reading Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy after having failed to get even halfway through Dostoevsky’s The Brothers Karamazov last winter, but I figure now that I am almost at the mid point of the book and am absolutely in love with it I can officially state my intent of adding the full tome to my “already read” list.  I should mention that by “almost at the mid point” I mean that I am on page 375 of 864!  Hold your applause.

I was motivated to get this classic under my belt when I found that a new film adaptation will be hitting theaters this fall/winter (trailer below) and I did not want to watch it prior to reading the novel.  Although the film has two special screenings at the Toronto International Film Festival (currently going on in Toronto), I am going to wait to see the movie once it hits commercial theaters later in the year.  I don’t want to stand in line to fight for tickets and I am quite doubtful of being able to finish the book prior to the two showings.

But back to the book, did I mention that I love it?  If you are an avid reader you probably know what I am talking about when I say that this book stays with me throughout the day.  I think about the characters, about future developments in their lives, I think about the inevitable end of the heroine (I won’t spoil it for you, but I would be very surprised if just through cultural dissemination you do not already know her fate), and I also mull over the numerous political and philosophical issues Tolstoy weaves in and out of the narrative (even though, admittedly,  there are a few issues I have yet to firmly grasp).  It is just a wonderful read and I already feel pangs of sadness when I think that fairly soon I will be done with the story – a sure sign of a great book!

However, even after completion I have the film to look forward to, which, if nothing else, looks like an absolute feast for the eyes!  Just the costuming alone…swoon!  Also, the screenplay just happens to be written by Tom Stoppard (if you do not know the name and *gasp” have never read or seen the play, or better yet, seen the film adaptation of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead  I urge you to remedy this as soon as possible!  Like, now!  What are you waiting for?!) and directed by Joe Wright (Pride & Prejudice, Atonement).

Let’s have a look-see shall we?

 

2 thoughts on “anna k

  1. Pingback: an update « The Nouveau Shanty

  2. Pingback: well that was a disappointment | The Nouveau Shanty

Leave a Reply

