green smoothie cups

I have often thought that drinking a fresh smoothie every morning would be a really great thing to do.  Especially a green smoothie with all sorts of leafy greens and other healthy ingredients.  There are two major reasons why I have never been able to make this part of my daily routine.  The first, is that I typically wake up and only have about 20 minutes to get ready and be out the door for work so I never had time to put together the ingredients and blend them all together.  The second issue, is that a lot of vegetables tend to go into green smoothies and although I would have good intentions and stock my fridge full of carrots, celery, kale, spinach and the like, they would often go bad before I had a chance to use them all up.

So I can assure you I was a) pleased as punch and b) smacking myself on the head for not thinking of this myself when I saw the Green Smoothie Cup recipe on Muffin Tin Mania.  The idea is that you pre-make little green smoothie pods, freeze them, and in the mornings add them to either coconut or regular water and voila!  This takes no time and all of those veggies won’t go bad.

So I decided to give it a try and it worked out perfectly!  I am already coming up with other smoothie ideas in my head!  I had my first one on Thursday morning and the only thing I would recommend is unless you have a Vita-Mix blender which can quickly crush ice, take the smoothie pods out and leave in blender for about 10 minutes before processing so that they can soften up a little.

Coconut Green Smoothie Cups

2 cups coconut water
1/3 cup almonds
2 cups spinach
2 celery stalks, chopped
1/4 cup fresh mint
1/2 orange
1 tablespoon honey
1/2 teaspoon ginger powder
2 cups frozen mango cubes
Place the ingredients in the order listed in a blender container and whirl until smooth. Divide mixture among 12 muffin cups and freeze until solid. When ready for a refreshing drink, place 1 cup coconut water or regular water in a blender followed by two of the green cups and whirl. If you don’t have a powerful blender, you might need to cut the frozen smoothie cups into quarters first.

Ingredients assembled! I did not have any almonds so I used almond butter instead. And I also used fresh mangoes instead of frozen. And I think in the future I will use fresh ginger as oppose to the powder.

This recipe filled my blender right up to the top so I probably could have used less coconut water. And yes, my blender is super old school but I love it because the motor on it is ridiculously strong and the actual container is glass instead of plastic. This guy has been alive since the 80s at least and I plan to make it last for another long while.

Mixture in the muffin tin

I had a bit left over so my king ice cubes gave up some space

The next morning I am ready to go. It is recommended that you slice up the pods to make it easier on your appliance.

Finished product! Yum!

Couple of other mentions, I believe it states this on the website, but if you are having problems getting the pods out of the muffin tin the next day you can either leave it out until they soften up or place the bottom of the tin into a sink full of hot water so that their edges melt and loosen up.  Alternatively, you can invest in a silicone muffin pan (like this) which will make it a lot easier to get these pods, or actual muffins, out of the pan (trust me, I used to work as a baker and they make a world of difference).

Secondly, I apologize for the stark nature of the photos.  iPhone camera coupled with my kitchen lighting tends to produce the same effect on photographs as the overhead lights at the end of the night in a dark bar…THAT’s what you look like?! *slowly back away*.

And lastly, I plan to experiment lots with this idea so I will post my discoveries on here in the future and please share any that you come up with!

Oh and make sure to check out some other great uses for your muffin pan on Muffin Tin Mania!

Leave a Reply

