for the brats

I am currently reading (and loving) Don’t Vote – It Just Encourages the Bastards by P.J. O’Rourke.  His sense of humor is right up my alley, dry, sarcastic, honest and blunt.  Plus he is one intelligent man!  Great read so far and I am not even halfway through.

Here is an excerpt I particularly like…one we can all keep in mind for the brats in our lives :)

It seems unfair that failure is essential to every aspect of freedom – economic freedom, political freedom, the freedom of existence itself.  But freedom is not fair.  Much can be made of the fact, I suppose.  Personally, I’m immune to the complaint.  I have a twelve-year-old daughter, Muffin.  All I hear is, “It’s not fair! It’s not fair! It’s not fair!”

I say to her, “Honey, you’re cute.  That’s not fair.  You’re smart.  That’s not fair.  You were born in the United States of America [I think Canada can easily be substituted in].  That’s not fair.  Darling, you had better get down on your knees and pray to God that things don’t start getting fair for you.”

could be a lot worse

Leave a Reply

