no photoshop here

From Lost At E Minor:

Alison Scarpulla is a magician. All of her images are done through traditional film. There is no Photoshop: that is her dipping her negatives into acid and wine. There is no fancy light trick: that is her smearing dirt across the camera lens.

When I was growing up my dad used to love his camera.  He would take it out all the time and capture what are now very precious images of my family and I.  These images are now the perfect and most nostalgic memories of my childhood.  Every few weeks we would all gather in our kitchen, black out the light, and develop the negatives.  I used to love watching the images magically appear.  There is something about film photography, a type of magic and nostalgia, that digital can never replace.  And because of my fondness of it as a kid, work like the below, which plays around with the medium, will always hold a special place in my heart.

One thought on “no photoshop here

Leave a Reply

