peaks and valleys

I had a “blah” day yesterday.  For no reason.  That sometimes just happens.  I felt kind of sad and lazy and tired.  It could be the weather, it could be hormones, but I think it is just life.  I used to worry about days like these.  I would try so hard to figure out what caused them and how I could leap out of them as soon as possible.  I realized a few years ago that not only was this a pointless exercise, but also that these types of days are kind of important.  I think that these are the days that fall into the natural valleys of our cycles and these are the days our bodies and spirits just need a little rest.  A time of reflection and of stillness.

I used to worry that these days would last forever, but they don’t.  The only constant thing in life is change.  The older I get the more I see that is the truth.  Possibly the ultimate truth…you can never step into the same river twice and all that jazz.

A few years ago my sister and I went to a story-telling festival here in Toronto and although I don’t remember that much from it there is one story I heard that has always stuck with me.

A king once put out a proclamation to his kingdom.  He challenged his citizens to come up with a story, or a saying, or a song, that would make him happy when he was sad and sad when he was happy.  Many people tried and all failed.  One day a man came before the king and said that he had come up with what the king requested.  When the king asked what it was the man said “One simple phrase: This too shall pass”.

In times of sadness we are reminded that these sad and hard times never last.  In happy times we are reminded to treasure and appreciate what is happening in the moment because it will not last forever.

So on days like yesterday, when things are gloomy, I just keep that in mind.  This too shall pass.  It always does.  And tomorrow is always a new day.


Leave a Reply

