Highschool Flashback Fridays!

The one and only all consuming high school crush.

There was more than one but this was the guy that I “loved” from Grade 9 to Grade 12 I would say.  I still like to think there is some parallel universe where him and I are together and have babies and are ridiculously happy.

I didn’t really know him that well and we never really hung out outside of school, but I was just so convinced that he was perfect.  It’s all kind of silly when I look back on it but crushes often are.  I remember how intense all those feelings were.  I remember getting dressed every morning thinking about how to look best in case I saw him.  I would think of things to say to him when I did see him in the future.  And I am pretty sure, in some buried notebook, in the back pages I may have even practiced writing my first name beside his last name.  I will admit I just giggled like a little school girl thinking about that.

And although we never shared more than a hug I still smile when I think of him.  Or the idea of him I suppose.

I thought of him this week because I thought of this song and I remember thinking about him when I first heard it.  My heart smiles thinking back on that time.  Oh to be young again :)

and you love me, you just don’t know it yet

Leave a Reply

