new day

I have always been kind of on the fence as far as New Year’s resolutions go.  I feel like they are sometimes unrealistic and put too much pressure on the people making them to succeed.  I recently saw a picture of a fat cat sitting in a little basket, his flab hanging over the sides and the caption read something like “two choices: lose weight or get a bigger basket”.

The truth is that sometimes all we can do is get the proverbial bigger basket.  While there are some things we can change about ourselves and our circumstances some things are pretty much here to stay and maybe a resolution could be to accept these things and make peace with them.

Last January I gave up alcohol for the month and it didn’t really have to do with New Year’s resolutions.  It was just something I wanted to do following a crazy two months at the end of 2010 that was all about the party.  It was great to save some money and not have hangovers but to be honest, it didn’t really make me feel as good as I was hoping it would.  If anything, I felt lonely and kind of bored since most of the time I meet my friends there are pints or drinks of some nature involved.  I don’t regret doing it, but the pay off wasn’t enough for me to want to do that again.

So this year to usher in some detoxification this month I am going back to a regular hot yoga practice (because the pay off from that is always simply amazing in so many ways).  I am also starting two online courses through Humber College (the last two in order to get my Project Management certificate – woot) so I feel like my life will be pretty busy as it is.  I am also going to try to sneak in some bread baking in there and general healthy eating.  The healthy eating is kind of a tricky one because I feel like I go through phases of it a few times every year when I am really hard core about it.  Almost all vegan, almost all raw, and just generally good good stuff.  I feel great, but I think I often find it too time consuming and after one slip up of eating junk because it is faster or more convenient everything just kind of goes off the rails again.  So we will see how that goes.

Oh and I guess lastly I need to pick a number of books that I would like to get through this year.  According to my Goodreads account I read something like 17 in 2011, which actually seems really low to me.  I generally get through about two every month, but I guess if I take into account months when things were hectic and I didn’t have time to sit and read it may make sense.  Although I am still convinced I am missing a few.  By the way, if you have a Goodreads account as well, or are going to open one, let’s be friends! My name on there is “Xebe(tron)”.  Yep, nerdlinger to the max over here.

Oh and I guess I will work on my finances…but we all have to say that around this time of year, don’t we?

virtue isn't better than vice

 

Leave a Reply

