Highschool Flashback Fridays!

So there is probably not so much to add to the song below by The Faces that generally speaks to the way our lives develop.  We are teenagers and are going through so many physical and psychological changes at a time when most of us are also really dumb and inexperienced.  Sorry to put it so bluntly but I think you will agree that this is true.

I wish that I knew what I know now
when I was younger

When I listen to this song I think about the little me in high school and how it would be so great if she had all of the information that the “present me” does to cope with the crazy fluctuations in all aspects of life that occurred during that time.  And I am not necessarily talking about high self-esteem or things of that nature, I am just talking about the basic tool kit I now possess in my head that I can pull out when things get tough.

I see the irony in this of course, because the first tools I probably ever added to this kit were discovered just at those tough times in high school, but 6 years of studying the human condition through psychology and anthropology has left me loaded with valuable self-advice that I can pull out in a whim.  Also the somewhat recent transition of three of my immediate family members into the pursuit of Buddhist philosophy has loaded me with a lot of other new and extremely useful perspectives.  And then, of course, is my own personal research into this kind of thing that is fairly ongoing when I have the time for it.

One of my friends from high school and I were talking just about this over drinks a few years ago and realized that for the very reason of NOT being prepared for life’s challenges at that sensitive time in our lives, and yet still managing to get through it, is probably something not nearly enough of us celebrate!  We should all be giving ourselves pretty big pats on the back I think…unless you are still emotionally scarred from that time, in which case you failed…just kidding.  You’ll be fine!  Keep working at it!

Leave a Reply

