let’s party

Tonight is my work Christmas party…well I should clarify, it is my company-wide Christmas party.  We have already had a Christmas lunch for the office in which I work, and next Monday is my team’s Christmas party, but the one tonight is the big enchilada.  Last I heard, they are expecting around 700 people.

Like the previous two years, we are again having it at the Royal Ontario Museum (this is when you let out a slow long whistle and maybe say “faaaancy!).  They have been pretty swank affairs in the past and I can only expect the same this time around.  For the past two years they have included cocktails, food, ice sculptures, prizes, dessert in the dinosaur exhibit…yeah we are not messing around.

One of the best parts of having our party in the museum is that we have pretty much unrestricted access to most, if not all, of the museum for the night.  I have never really explored too much in the past two years, but I definitely will again be taking advantage of our access to the current special exhibition which right now happens to be Maya: Secrets of their Ancient World.  Last year it was the The Warrior Emperor and China’s Terracotta Army, which as far as exhibitions go, wasn’t the best.  I was happy to see it for free, but I don’t know if I would have felt the same paying for museum admission as well as the additional $12 or whatever it is to get access to it.

And when this affair wraps up, there is the whole other option of heading out somewhere else with a bunch of work people and staying up late enough to necessitate taking the next day off work (lesson learned from last year…and thank-you future me, you should appreciate it come Friday morning).

I’m excited.  Time to get all dolled up and stuff my face with free food!

Oh and before you ask, no, I am not allowed to bring anyone with me, BUT rest assured that if you follow me on Twitter (you can start now if you like by clicking on my Twitter feed on the right hand side of this page —–> over there somewhere) or if you are my friend on Facebook I will be posting a sufficient amount of photos to make you jealous.

party headquarters

Leave a Reply

