it builds character

Without going into details there’s been some emotional upheaval in my life this past week and that always leads to all sorts of stress and anxiety.  This is especially difficult for me to deal with no matter what the circumstance, because I tend to really go into my head and make myself have all sorts of crazy thoughts and emotions that are completely unneeded.  I find that trying to distract myself is always a losing game, so I just have to deal with it.

I am a firm believer in the “everything happens for a reason” philosophy.  I think that I need to have this mindset because things make so much more sense to me this way.  And I also have to say that my life thus far is chalk full of examples of head-scratching events and outcomes, which later made a lot of sense based on how other things worked out.  This has been the case with relationships, jobs, and some more minor day to day stuff.  I remember doing a research paper on Existential Psychology back in university and having a somewhat major existential crisis because of it in my early 20s.  It was not a good time but that was exactly when I had to evaluate and decide on what I believed.  Either things are chaotic and random, or there is at least some order in the universe.  Maybe even a little something called fate.  I chose the latter option.

Nonetheless, times can be tough even if I believe that they are happening for a reason.  There is all sorts of stuff I can tell myself and that generally helps.  Realizing that everything runs its course and does not last forever is a pretty comforting thought.  We, as humans, are unbelievably strong and resilient.  I am sure we all have examples that we can look back on in our lives and be amazed at ourselves for getting through the hard stuff.  Looking back on those moments and realizing they are behind you and that you are still around and well is really inspiring stuff.  It all can come from within, although the occasional words of reassurances from outsiders can also be great.  So can dancing around, punching pillows, crying, watching funny movies, looking up inspirational quotes, etc.  I’ve done all of those things at one point or another and they all helped.

I know I have written about this before, but there is a great Russian saying that goes “hope dies last”…always have the hope…

….and here is this song again…

Leave a Reply

