Highschool Flashback Fridays!

Huntsville Ski Trip for Band

When I was in Grade 9 or 10 I went on a one-nighter ski trip to Huntsville with band class.  We stopped along the way at another high school to play some stuff and then headed north for the night.  We got to stay at a pretty awesome resort and let me tell you, fun times were had.

I shared a room with two other girls and although one of them passed out pretty early with the heat cranked in the bedroom (seriously, it was like a sauna in there).  My other friend and I stayed up all night (bad idea) on the fold out sofa in the living room.  For some reason I believe the movie Empire Records was involved.  Must have been on TV that night.

So the following day, going on zero sleep (and I should also mention quite sick), I attempted skiing for the first time since I was about six years old.  Oh and I should also mention that I had decided that cross-country was the way to go.  For some reason even the thought of the downhill bunny hill gave me the fear at that time.  So our group got our skis on and took to the trails.  It was a mess.  No one knew what they were doing, I ended up skiing with only two other people, and we took the wrong trail and ended up skiing down a downhill hill by sitting down on our skis like toboggans (that part was actually pretty fun). 

Overall it took us about two hours to complete the trail that I am just going to assume should have taken something like 30 minutes.  Following this we piled back on the bus, I passed out and woke up back at school waiting for my parents to come pick me up.  I was a tired and sick mess.  Somewhere in the back of my closet there is a picture of me taken in the high school bathroom that very evening looking very non-plussed.  I should probably frame it and hang it up somewhere, it’s pretty funny from what I remember.

feels like i'm wearing nothing at all! ... nothing at all ... nothing at all... stupid sexy Flanders!

Leave a Reply

