let’s talk tonics

I have come up with a concoction of sorts that I always drink (in copious amounts) when I feel like I am getting sick, and especially if my throat is sore.  I will drink it by the mugful if I am at home or will make a big water bottle of it to take to work.  I normally drink it hot at home, but bring it cold to work and either drink as is or heat up in the microwave (not in the water bottle – it’s metal…but don’t put a plastic one in there either, k?). 

Pretty basic stuff:

For one mug:

Juice of one lime

3-4 thin slices of fresh ginger

One or two pinches of cayenne pepper

2 tablespoons or so of honey

Hot water

I think that this is basically a combination of The Master Cleanse (although the cleanse uses maple syrup instead of honey) and Gollum Juice.  I don’t know that there is a link to Gollum Juice, but in one of the DVD extras for Lord of the Rings, Andy Serkis (the performer behind Gollum) talked about a drink he made everyday to help his vocal chords which would be very strained after a day of shooting.  I think that a lot of my ingredients were in his little secret weapon as well.  So I guess my drink can be called The Gollum Cleanse?  Nah.  The Master Gollum?  Done.

It seems to help me anyway and if nothing else keeps me hydrated and full of Vitamin C.  They always say to drink lots of liquids when sick and vitamin C is a sure-fire way to prevent scurvy!

Oh and for these chilly winter nights coming up, I sometimes add some spiced rum to the mix for my version of a Hot Toddy before bed. 

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

