ooooOOOOooooo OOooooo

The title of this post is supposed to be scary ghost sounds, in case you couldn’t figure that out on your own.

This past Saturday night, two of my friends and I embarked on a two hour walking tour, hosted by Tour Guys, of some of the (supposedly) most haunted buildings in downtown Toronto.  We started off at Old City Hall and ended at the Keg Mansion, with stops along the way at St. Michael’s hospital (there’s a nun that haunts this place apparently), the Mackenzie House (former home of William Lyon Mackenzie – the first Mayor of Toronto), the Ryerson Theatre School, and other sites along the way.  It was an interesting way to spend some time on a Saturday night and I really enjoyed learning the history of these historic buildings more so than the actual ghost stories.  We also had a pretty motley crew of tour participants in our group that made the walk all the more…erm…lively.

So despite the fact that I am not even sure I believe in ghosts, and the fact that most of the stories I heard during the walk didn’t strike me as being all that scary at the time, I most certainly woke up at 4am that night and could not fall back asleep for about an hour while my mind raced with all of the potentially spooky things that could have been happening in my apartment at that very moment.  I clutched to my cat for dear life, pulled the blankets almost over my head, and tried to think of happy things.  Go to my “happy place” in my mind.  To no avail.  It was probably an hour before I could fall asleep again and even then did not have a very restful sleep. 

What can I say?  I’m a sissy when it comes to stuff like that, my mind gets the better of me and I freak myself out.  The Sixth Sense for example, came out in 1999, which is when I saw it in theatres, and to this day I can freak myself out to the point of having to have the light on at night if I really start to think about that movie.  Same with The Blair Witch Project.  Just sad, I know.  I think it has to do with me never really watching scary movies growing up, so they have a very lasting and ridiculously powerful effect on my imagination.

We’ll see how Halloween goes this year…maybe an abnormally scary Jack-o-lantern will be the end of me this year…

They will haunt my dreams tonight!

4 thoughts on “ooooOOOOooooo OOooooo

  1. My dad’s new house is apparently haunted. My step sister claims to have seen the kitchen on fire and heard people calling out names. I’m still a skeptic, but do feel there may be some sort of scientific explanation (ie some form of energetic wave, that can influence certain people in a way that causes them to hallucinate). I don’t think they are caused by “the dead”, but just caused by the makeup of the surrounding geology or something similar, ie “ley lines”.

    • Well we learned on the tour that apparently a lot of the experiences people have when they think a place is haunted line up perfectly with symptoms of being exposed to carbon monoxide…so maybe they need to check that in their new place… :)

      But yes, I have a hard time believing that it is “the dead” hanging about but I also can’t disregard the fact that so many people have reported similar experiences all over the world. Something must be going on!

  2. Pingback: urban angel | The Nouveau Shanty

  3. Pingback: 2011 wrap up (July-December) | The Nouveau Shanty

Leave a Reply

