the shadow of the wind

I am not even half-way through this novel by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, but I have already fallen madly in love with it.  Both the writing, and the story so far have been brilliantly crafted, with a real reminiscence of the Magic Realism authors like Gabriel García Márquez, whom I adore.  I am sure there may be another post or two about it as I go, but this part I have to post now.  It all comes from one page of the book, but I have left some parts out.

“Speaking of passion, tell me about Bernarda.  Was there or was there not a kiss?”

“Don’t insult me, Daniel.  Let me remind you that you are talking to a professional in the craft of seduction, and this business of kissing is for amateurs and little old men in slippers.  Real women are won over bit by bit.  It’s all a question of psychology, like a good faena in the bullring.”

“In other words, she gave you the brush off.”

….

“…The trouble is that man, going back to Freud–and excuse the metaphor–heats up like a lightbulb: red hot in the twinkling of an eye and cold again in a flash.  The female, on the other hand–and this is pure science–heats up like an iron, if you see what I mean.  Slowly, over a low heat, like a tasty stew.  But then, once she has heated up, there’s no stopping her…”

“That’s just what the master said: show me a Don Juan and I’ll show you a loser in disguise,  What I aim for is permanence, durability…”

One thought on “the shadow of the wind

  1. Pingback: 2011 wrap up (July-December) | The Nouveau Shanty

Leave a Reply

