Highschool Flashback Fridays!

…a special 1st birthday edition!

Wow guys this is the 52nd installment of Highschool Flashback Fridays, which means that I have officially been blogging every day for one full year!  Wow!  You know what else lasts a year?  One year of high school and I could barely get through it, let alone really make a commitment to being a good student.  I actually couldn’t even commit to showing up every day.

To be honest, I think that this one-post-for-one-year goal is probably the most I have committed to anything in my life.  Sure I went to university for six years, but a lot of that was kind of touch and go with a lot of slacking happening all over the place.  I only did as well as I did because I am good at being a student. I can write an essay with my eyes closed and still get a good grade.

In terms of the blog I suppose the last year has been a lot like my academic career at any level in which I have pursued it.  Some moments were a flurry of activity where I could sit down and bang out a whole bunch of posts in one sitting, and others were moments of panic as I was startled awake at one in the morning realizing that I have nothing scheduled for 8am and frantically thinking of something to post.  That is when YouTube comes in handy. 

But I will say that unlike my academic career I really tried to not be lazy with this blog.  Sure there were some “hey look at this picture” posts that was just me not having the time or the energy to really think of something good to say, but I did try to limit those as much as possible.  And I am pretty sure that going into my second year I will work even harder to keep these to a minimum.

I am not really sure where to go now with these weekly flashbacks.  Maybe I will graduate and start writing about my university experience…that is certainly a treasure trove of stories.  Although maybe this high school horse still has some wind in it yet.  Let me think it over and I guess you will find out next week!

Leave a Reply

