highschool flashback fridays!

Jonathon Livingston Seagull

A simple, short book by Richard Bach that immensely changed the way I see the world.  My dad had a few of his books around the house and I remember picking this one up when I had some time to kill.  It took maybe half an hour to read but it certainly sparked my interest in his ideas.  I read almost all of his books (Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah was probably the most influential) during high school and I really think that my journey to forming some sort of comprehensive spiritual view of this world really began with his ideas.

Plus my biggest day dream is to be able to fly, so reading about this little seagull soaring above the ocean is a way I can vicariously live out this fantasy.

 

  • Don’t believe what your eyes are telling you. All they show is limitation. Look with your understanding.

 

  • If our friendship depends on things like space and time, then when we finally overcome space and time, we’ve destroyed our own brotherhood! But overcome space, and all we have left is Here. Overcome time, and all we have left is Now. And in the middle of Here and Now, don’t you think that we might see each other once or twice?

 

  • Jonathan Seagull discovered that boredom and fear and anger are the reasons that a gull’s life is so short, and with these gone from his thoughts, he lived a long fine life indeed.
Leave a Reply

