in with the new

Sometimes in the spring there is an amazing wind that is so cool and refreshing and sudden and strong and it always makes me feel like it just permeates my body taking all sorts of old and stale things with it as it passes through me.  It makes me feel like real change is possible, like the time to act is at that moment because even Nature is there supporting the transition.

Yesterday, on that beautiful autumn day we had here in Toronto I felt the same feeling.  I don’t know that I have ever felt rejuvenated by fall weather.  Normally I see it as a support for going inward and slowing down for the fall ahead.  Not yesterday, boyo!  Yesterday was all about recharging and feeling like change is around the corner.  I suppose it always is, but something yesterday made it feel really tangible.  I could use some right now so here is to fresh winds and new beginnings!

In my head this is the song that makes sense right now.  You don’t have to get it, but maybe just enjoy it, k?  Also, look at how little T and S are in this video!  I love ’em!

Showers pounding out a new beat
I trade my old shoes for new feet
I grab a new seat
I don’t like the one I got
The fabric’s wearing through
And it’s wearing me out
You’re wearing me down

Watching old baseball games
And low budget telethons
Ain’t like watching you yourself
When you yourself is on
Got time to wander to waste and to whine
But when it comes to you
It seems like I just can’t find the time

So watch your head and then watch the ground
It’s a silly time to learn to swim
When you start to drown
It’s a silly time to learn to swim
On the way down

If I gave you my number
Would it still be the same
If I saved you from drowning
Promise me you’ll never go away
Promise me you’ll always stay

Closed down the last local zoo
I’m gonna win the endless war
Over who kills the last koala bear
And who in death will love him more and I…
He grabs me by the hand
Drags me to the shore and says
Maybe you don’t love me
But you’ll grow to love me even more
And I well I’m not surprised

If I gave you my number
Would it still be the same
If I saved you from drowning
Promise me you’ll never go away
Promise me you’ll always stay

Showers pounding out a new beat
I trade my old shoes for new feet
I grab a new seat
I don’t like the one I got
The fabric’s wearing through
And it’s wearing me out
You’re wearing me down

So watch your head and then watch the ground
It’s a silly time to learn to swim
When you start to drown
It’s a silly time to learn to swim
On the way down

One thought on “in with the new

  1. Pingback: no denying it | The Nouveau Shanty

Leave a Reply

