just lie around today, k?

Here at the Shanty I am all about self growth and working hard to get stuff done…well…my blog articles tend to run like that, but in all honesty there is a lot of lounging involved in being me.  And I am ok with that.  My friend and I have annual “Sweatpant Olympics” which run roughly from Thanksgiving to the first days of spring.  This basically involves getting home and putting on sweatpants.  Then lounging around like a fat cat for the rest of the night while texting each other about lounging around in sweatpants like lazy fat cats.  Sounds pretty good right?

The thing is that I think a lot of people feel guilty when they are taking time to just relax.  There are a million things that always need to get done, or can be done, so it seems like a waste of time to just sit around and read a book or watch a movie.  Although I do sometimes feel guilty for taking time to be lazy, I also realize that this is an essential part of the rejuvenation process.  It is for me anyway.  I really really value my time alone and if I don’t have any in a given week I get a little bitey.  Well, not literally.  Well, not most of the time anyway.

So since I know how important rest is to me, I am giving you all permission to don your best sweats, eat some munchies, put your feet up and be lazy.  Sometimes all you need to do is breathe.

Pictures admired from here.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “just lie around today, k?

  1. Pingback: 2011 wrap up (July-December) | The Nouveau Shanty

Leave a Reply

