be like an orange

I am a pretty big fan of Wayne Dyer.  He is an author, public speaker, motivational and spiritual guru, and all around a positive person.  I have a few of his lectures and audiobooks on my iPod and find them extremely uplifting to listen to when I am having a crummy day or just when I need a little boost to get things back on track in my life.

He has this one quote about an orange that I absolutely love and try to come back to in my thoughts as often as I can.

When you squeeze an orange, orange juice comes out — because that’s what’s inside. When you are squeezed, what comes out is what is inside.

What he means by this is that no matter how you choose to squeeze an orange you will only ever get orange juice because that is all that the orange has inside (well maybe some pulp and some pith as well).  If you become a person that is filled with positivity, light and love, then no matter how people “squeeze” you, nothing but those good things could possibly come out of you because they are simply the only things inside of you.  

I have tried extremely hard over the past few years to be more like the mighty orange.  I am proud to say that I am often able now to stop a knee jerk reaction in myself and actually stop for a second and really think things though.  Rather than responding hastily to a nasty e-mail at work for example, I can sit and think about what the repercussions of that action will be.  And I think we all know that fighting fire with fire is just not a good way to go about things.  It accomplishes nothing, makes you feel angry, defensive and only escalates a given situation. 

At the end of the day it all comes down to compassion really, being mean to someone, being selfish in my thinking, not taking other people’s thoughts and feelings into account has never gotten me very far.  And if anything, these actions are the ones that will utlimately ruin relationships of any sort, be they romantic, professional or any other kind.  I am not saying that I have achieved the orange-like state of bliss, but I am working towards it more and more everyday…  I have some slip ups without a doubt, but I think that even being aware of your own wrong doings is a step in the right direction.

I hope you take the wisdom of the all mighty orange with you in your travels today.

Leave a Reply

