Highschool Flashback Fridays

Art class or, where dreams went to die

I signed up for art class in Grade 9 because I thought it would be a fun and easy class to take.  I have never been very artistically inclined, but I figured I would take this opportunity to brush up on some skills. Boy was I very very wrong.  The art teacher we had at my first high school was a total…well..bitch to be frank.  She had failed as an artist on her own and chose to funnel that disappointment into breaking the spirits of young students.  She was bitter, angry, and mean and God help you if you got in her way.

The thing is that with me it didn’t really matter because I knew that I would never be an amazing still life painter, or portrait sketcher, and honestly, I never wanted to be.  However, there was at least a handful of super talented people I knew in high school who had their dreams shattered by her.  Luckily, for most of them this was just a temporary set back and I know at least two of these people who went on to pursue artistic endeavors in successful careers.

The fact that this woman was able to teach “art” for so long in this way is just beyond me.  Teenagers are already an insecure lot so to have an “authority” undermine your talent and/or passion is just heart breaking.  As I said, I didn’t really care that much about the class or my artistic talent, and although I did pass, my grade was only positively influenced by written tests on art history.  I hope that the people who did actually care were able to eventually put her behind them and realize that her criticism was a bunch of bologna…that’s right, bologna!

And now, I leave you with some of my work…  Prints are available in the gift shop.

Leave a Reply

