Best Sunday Breakfast

If I really want to treat myself, or a house guest, to some awesome breakfast food then I simply cannot make anything other than Lemon Ricotta Pancakes.  I accidentally stumbled unto the recipe almost a year ago and have been pulling it out every few months.  This is a pretty rich way to start your day, but so delicious.  Last time I made them for my sister and served them with maple syrup and fresh blueberries and cherries. Yum!

The key to this recipe are the beaten egg whites (I have since adopted this technique for any type of pancake as it makes them really fluffy and light).  There are some basic things you need to know about beating egg whites.  First, everything you use must be dry.  The bowl, the whisk, or the electric beater must be dry dry dry!  Any bit of moisture (or even a very humid day) will prevent you being able to beat egg whites to the “stiff peaks” that are normally called for.  Second, it takes a while, especially if you are using a whisk.  I don’t have an electric mixer so I use a whisk and it takes probably a good 5 minutes of whisking the eggs to get them to the texture you want.  Third, no egg yolk can mix with the egg whites when you are separating the two.  If some egg yolk gets into the whites you can try to carefully remove it, but the one time this happened with this recipe, I saved those eggs for something else and started again.  Fourth, take the eggs out of the fridge ahead of time if possible, as room temperature eggs are easier to beat.  Finally, if possible try to use eggs that are a bit “older”.  As we don’t live on farms and gather eggs ourselves every day this shouldn’t be a real issue, but if you have the choice of older versus fresher eggs, use the older.

And without further ado..here’s the recipe I use.

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes - the most recent time they were made at The Shanty

 

One thought on “Best Sunday Breakfast

  1. I will totally TESTIFY that these pancakes not only lived up to the hype, but also leave me no choice except to kick said hype up a few notches, BAM!

    Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

