Trees

Do you like trees?  Stupid question right?  That is pretty much like me asking, ‘so, you like oxygen’?  Maybe you don’t, I don’t know your life and I certainly don’t want to jump to any assumptions.

Well for the record, I am a big fan.  Of trees, that is.  One of my fondest childhood memories is lying in a hammock, eating some fresh peas that I had just picked in my grandparents’ garden and watching the tree tops above sway gently in the summer breeze.  Pretty much a perfect memory as far as I am concerned.  I also like peas and hammocks…but I digress.

One of the coolest things about trees is how freakin’ old they are!  When I was in California last year I really hoped to get to Sequoia National Park to see these HUGE trees, especially General Sherman.  This sequoia (world’s largest tree, don’t ya know) is over 80 meters in height and is between 2,300 and 2,700 years old!  That just completely blows my mind.  This tree was around when dinosaurs roamed the earth, it’s old, ok?  We’ll leave it at that.

Here is another oldie:

Leave a Reply

