Love in the Time of Cholera

Talk about your epic love stories!  Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez is one of my all time favorite stories.  It is such a great book to get lost in and I always end up reading it in a span of a few days.  Many a nights have been spent trying to put it down in order to make time for sleep.

I am about halfway through it right now and just keep remembering why I like it so much.  Pure bliss to read. 

With her Florentino Ariza learned what he had already experienced many times without realizing it: that one can be in love with several people at the same time, feel the same sorrow with each, and not betray any of them. Alone in the midst of the crowd on the pier, he said to himself in a flash of anger: ‘My heart has more rooms than a whorehouse’.

 And no quote from the book captures its spirit of love more so than the author’s dedication of the book to his wife.  Simply stated at the front of the book

For Mercedes, of course.

Sigh.

7 thoughts on “Love in the Time of Cholera

  1. I have never read the book but it was highly recommended by my Literature teacher back in high school. Such a shame I didn’t consider her suggestion because I was already drowning with all the textbooks I had to pay attention to back then. But suddenly it popped in my head a couple of days ago so I googled it and voila, I’m in love with it. I’ll try to get myself a copy of the book (or the DVD of the movie) this Christmas :D Ooh by the way, your blog is very interesting! But I can’t find the email sub button :(

    • Well it is certainly never too late to read it! I am sure you will enjoy it very much – makes me feel very optimistic about love and people in general every time I read it!

      Thanks for your comment about the blog!

  2. Pingback: 2011 wrap up (July-December) | The Nouveau Shanty

  3. Shakira, the singer, called this book “one of the last great love stories of our times.”
    Márquez just has a way with writing that it makes us fall in love with it.

  4. Pingback: may be doing it wrong « The Nouveau Shanty

  5. Pingback: Feminism and Testicles: Love In The Time Of Cholera | Opinion | Lip Magazine

Leave a Reply

