School Update

I have been in my first of four courses at Humber College for a few weeks now and I have to say, I am pretty surprised by the whole experience.  It is more challenging than I thought it would be.  There is a crapload of reading to do and on top of that apparently math is involved!  What?!  I didn’t even remember that anything to the power of zero is always equal to one…  Did I learn that sometime in high school?  I must have.  Needless to say I have some mathematical brushing up to do.

I have also been surprised by the make up of the class.  We really are a motley group ranging from young to old, from experienced in the field to newbies, and from wall flies to loud shout-out-any-comment-you-can-think-of folks.  Sometimes the class can get really rowdy with everyone yelling out their opinions or an answer at which point I just have to laugh.  I haven’t been in a loud class like this since supply teachers were being tormented by me and my fellow students back in elementary school.  It is also amusing to watch 40-somethings trying to be the first to yell out the right answer…did I mention there are no gold stars involved?

The other surprising totally expected thing is how much I am not enjoying the trek out to the campus and back home.  The two days per week that I have classes I am leaving home around 8am and getting back around 10:30 or 11pm.  The very first day that I went, the subway broke down on the way home so it was an even longer, more irritating day.  I foresee a few of those ahead, things being what they are with the TTC and all.

I have a midterm coming up which means I need to don some sweatpants, brew a pot of coffee and cram like the dickens.  I will always be a university undergrad student at heart I think…which means….POST-EXAM KEGGER!

I am getting started on my flyer...

Leave a Reply

