Twenty Years

On May 9, 1991 my dad, mom, sister, brother and I landed in London, ON for what was supposed to be a six month stay in Canada.  Today marks the 20th anniversary of that day.  I won’t get into the long story of what the fates had in store for us and why we decided to stay for good, but I will say that I am pretty thankful to be living here and not in the former Soviet Union.  To say that things are messed up over there is a bit of an understatement.  I do sometimes think about what my life would have been like had we gone back to Belarus after the six months as planned, and frankly I always fail to come up with a scenario that looks better than my life right now.  So here’s to the unpredictable!  Ain’t life grand?

You just never know what's around it...

One thought on “Twenty Years

  1. Pingback: 2011 wrap up (Jan-June) | The Nouveau Shanty

Leave a Reply

