Highschool Flashback Fridays!

Baffling Self-Perceptions – Part II – My inability to wear shorts

In Part I of “baffling self perceptions I had in high school” I discussed my belief that I could not wear hats.  Part II deals with the fact that I also could not wear shorts.  I don’t know why…I wasn’t fat, I didn’t have tree trunk thighs or, heaven forbid, cankles, nevertheless shorts were out of the question for most of the time I was in high school.  For some reason, I got it in my head, that something was terribly terribly wrong with my legs so I would insist on wearing jeans and corduroys even on the hottest of days.  In retrospect, I don’t know what my problem was.  Especially since girls with tree trunk thighs and cankles (mind you these are not mutually exclusive) wore the crap out of shorts without a care in the world, while I unnecessarily sweated it up all summer long.  I guess I can just chalk this one up to “weird teenage body issues” and be on my way.

Maybe if I had a pair like these back then I would have worn them.


Leave a Reply

