The come back

I have been working at my 9-5 for about two years (is that actually it?!  Seems like a lot longer) and most of that time I worked in an office located in downtown TO.  Then this August we were all uprooted and moved to the Don Mills and Eglinton area.  For those of you not familiar with the city, this is a pretty out-of-the-way place to get to, especially for people who rely on public transportation.

Well it looks like my days of early morning/evening packed buses are soon to be a thing of the past, as my request to move back downtown has been approved!  It will be so nice to have more eating options than Swiss Chalet and Harvey’s and that if I want to go for a walk there will be more to look at than a strip mall and some weird housing.

A lot of companies are starting to open offices outside of the city core, and it makes sense to me on some levels because of course the rent is much cheaper, and for huge companies (like Bell for example who just constructed a “campus” of buildings in Mississauga) it is the easiest way to bring all employees to one location. 

However, I tend to think of travel time to and from work as part of my work day, so when the commute can take up 3 hours per day for some people, I am not sure that a good enough argument can be made about forcing employees to trudge in to an office and sit in a cubicle.  It is just as isolating as working from home remotely and potentially less productive. 

My commute to the non-downtown location is really not as bad as it has been for many, but I am still very much looking forward to a 10-15 minute subway ride to work instead of a 35 minute bus ride which is often spent fighting off school children with back packs while trying to balance myself and my coffee.  Come to think of it, that is what my morning subway rides were like as well…but at least they are much faster!

So maybe I’ll see you there
We can forget all our troubles, forget all our cares
So go downtown, things’ll be great when

Leave a Reply

