I owe money to the money I owe

I have really been trying to make sense of my financial situation lately and have been feeling like I am barely treading water.  There is a lot of conflicting advice about paying off debt versus putting money into savings, for example, and it seems like no matter who you ask has varying advice.  In retrospect, I have realized that the people I have asked have often had an ulterior motive (of course my banker would suggest investing money through the bank rather than moving it elsewhere), but I have picked up some good knowledge along the way and I have also realized that this is my responsibility.  I can certainly ask people for help, but I can’t expect anyone to do this for me.

So in that spirit I have thrown myself into financial research mode.  Time to roll up my sleeves and get right in there.  Sure I have debt, but I also spend money sometimes without thinking and then have to go into further debt or into my savings to pay for some unexpected expense.  My goal is to document my spending for at least the next two weeks.  I did this before and was astounded at how much things like that morning coffee add up to a whopping overall expense!  Also, creating a budget doesn’t really work if you don’t know where your money is going.  Last time I did a budget I did not include any money for my cat for example, which resulted in me spending my last $20 on his food and subsisting on Mr. Noodles for about a week.

I am also going to start praying for a suitcase full of money.  What?!  I can dream…

Leave a Reply

