Hey there Fatso

Out of the realm of “human interest” stories nothing affects me greater than dramatic weight loss tales.  Whenever I watch a show, see a movie, or read an article about an obese individual overcoming their personal diet and exercise habits (or lack thereof) I unabashedly revel in their success.  I laugh, I cry, my heart sings – the whole production.  It is probably a good thing that I no longer own a TV because reality shows like The Biggest Loser, where individuals are followed on their road to weight loss over several months, would turn me into a blubbery mess.  This has become such an obsession with me that I toy around with the idea of getting really fat myself, and then working my ass off to get fit again.  My only concern there is that after a month or two of throw-caution-to-the-wind food intake and purposefully minimal physical activity I am not so sure I would have the will power, or the want to be perfectly frank, to give it all up.

Even this picture made me tear up a bit.

I am not sure what it is about this type of human achievement and dedication that gets to me.  Maybe it’s because there seems to be a lot of soul-searching and psychological revelations about the self that arise out of such events in people’s lives.  Maybe it is because I realize that this is a feat I could also accomplish one day.  As in, I could just do it on my own with diet and exercise – no professionals necessarily required, just me.  Maybe it also gives me hope that the things I am self-conscious about regarding my physical appearance are malleable. 

we are the champions my frieeeeends! dum dum dum duuuum and we'll keep on fighting till the end! bumm bumm bummm baaaa

Ultimately, I am positive that the main aspect of my love affair with these stories is that it shows real dedication that I myself lack.  I always procrastinate, make commitments to personal well-being and then break them, and dilude myself with the idea of tomorrow being the day it all changes; the day I will become some super controlled, dedicated, and focused individual.  This never happens, but yet these people achieve it.  Sure, they may slip up and eat some ice cream or pig out on cookies one day, but they ultimately get back on the horse and make real changes.  I want to be that person, not with weight loss but with other stuff.  Other things which I know would make me feel better about myself that I cleverly avoid doing on a daily basis.  What is it that I need to do to pull myself up by the bootstraps and start?  A camera crew?  An audience?  Hitting “rock bottom” as they say?

I have started doing some research.  And not the how-to-take-over-the-world kind.  I put that on the back burner to focus my energies and mental capacity to the psychological aspects of things like procrastination, dedication, goal achievement and the like.  Basically anything that will help me understand, and then put into practice, processes which drive success.

I will keep you updated of my findings.

Over and out.

Leave a Reply

