Highschool Flashback Fridays!

Band shirts!

Back in my day there was a store called “Backstage Pass”.  It sold almost exclusively music-related clothes, but most importantly, it sold band t-shirts.  No trip to the mall was complete without a perusal of this store’s merchandise.  I remember someone telling me at the time that it was extremely easy to steal clothes from this store (this was prior to those magnetic tag dealies) and while I coveted a large band t-shirt collection, I never got the guts to try to shoplift one.

The 90’s of course were not when the band t-shirt made its debut, but it seems like there was a resurgence in showing your musical allegiance printed on jersey across your chest during this time.  At least, that seemed to be the case at my high school.

My personal collection included shirts advertising my love of Nirvana, Hole, Nine Inch Nails, Marilyn Manson, Silverchair, and Green Day.  Yep, I was a hip hip kid.

If you wore this shirt to school you had to be ready to turn it inside out. That "Kitty Pettin" part really offends high school teachers apparently.

 

Leave a Reply

